My shins say, “ouch”

So I believe I have shin splints, the posterior kind.  My inner, lower shin is hurting on the side and it is tender to the touch.

I’ve had this before and I want to say that it has gone away on its own.  Though this time I feel like I need to not believe it will go away on its own. What steps can I take? I am concerned because, I am training for my first half (I am only at a distance of 5 -6 miles) and I have been doing all of my running on a treadmill.

Is anyone familiar with shin splints? I am currently in the process of  r.i.c.e and also will be starting to do calve stretches.  Could these shin splints occur because of the type of treadmill I am running on. It hurts worse when I am on a treadmill that has 3 inch treads and then a space and 3 inch treads and so on. If that has a name for it…

If anyone has any insight, I would love to hear it!

Leave a comment